Filling your world with COLOR through fashion, beauty, food, lifestyle etc.!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ever since I’ve joined Pinterest, a mad obsession has been created with DIY projects.  I wish I could take a year off and do them all!  I was inspired and even more excited to attend my first DIY event co-hosted by Jessica Garvey of The Hostess Handbook for the Young, Broke and Fabulous and EventBriteLA!

Eventbrite goodies

This interactive session focused on “Tips to Hosting a Fabulous Event on a Budget”, which was the ideal thing for me to attend since I am planning my first event for a September launch!  Held at Rolling Greens, LA’s premier destination for unique garden and home items, the setting was perfect backdrop to get creative and enjoy the company of other DIY Divas while sipping on champagne and cupcakes.  As one of the first 11 attendees, I received some goodies including an Eventbrite tank top, which you can never have enough of and it’s perfect for the hot days of August!

Scrabble Coasters

The room was setup in stations for creating Scrabble coasters, flower pom-poms, Ladybug cheese crackers and a photo booth!  I aimed for the coaster station first, and sat for a few minutes trying to create a saying to make out of Scrabble pieces.  Preferring this over the actual game, my first coaster read, “You Only Live Once.” That’s a motto I live by and what a nice reminder to have on a coaster! Then I thought I should create one that stays true to The Style Goddess brand, in which I came up with “Hues Make Life More Fun.” These were so easy to make and fun for any event!  All you need is Scrabble pieces, glue and you’re good to go! Pleased by my pair of coaster choices, I moved on to the flower pom poms.

A flower by any other name is a flower pom-pom!

Anything poofy and colorful catches my eye, so I was curious and anxious to see how to make one of these decorative pieces.  Another easy assembly with 8 sheets of tissue paper, ribbon and scissors, I will now be a flower pom-pom machine!  Just fold the tissue paper accordion style, tie the ribbon over the paper in the center, and cut the edges in a half moon or whatever shape you’d like. Pull apart the paper at the edges, fan and fluff out and you’ve got a flower pom-pom!  I love how the photo I took looks like a real flower in a bed of leaves.  This gave me a major decorating idea for my event and will easily keep me within budget!

DIY Photo Booth fun!

No party is a party without a photo booth!  If you’re on a budget you can create one yourself by taking some colored tape and making a boxed area on the ground where the photos will be taken, buy some props from the 99cent store, use a Polaroid camera and snap away!  Personalize the photos by making labels with your event name on it and stick it once ready!  Just when you thought you had to rent out some fancy machine you can now do it this way.  Can it get any better than this?

Ladybug Crackers

Making cute party snacks for an event is always the way to go.  Munching on ladybug cheese crackers using grape tomatoes, crackers, olives, cheese spread and grass leaves equals an eye-catching treat that can’t be beat!  Just spread the cheese on the cracker, cut a grape tomato in half and place on top of the cheese, dye some of the cheese spread black to add dots on top of the tomatoes, then place an olive in front of the tomatoes while adding 2 grass leaves inside.  Don’t let it crawl away, grab it and enjoy!

Me and Jessica Garvey of The Hostess Handbook

Me and Leila of EventbriteLA

I had such a wonderful time with these DIY projects and meeting other DIY Divas!  A fabulous event that was well attended and created an experience for all to enjoy.  Thank you Jessica, Leila of Eventbrite and Rolling Greens for a job well done!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

