Filling your world with COLOR through fashion, beauty, food, lifestyle etc.!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The creative synthesis of art and fashion is something my column is all about. I thrive at that exciting intersection where fashion, art, people, society, ideas and innovation come together.   I am a new kind of fashionista who seeks out those fresh connections and experiences that give us something more, that inspire new levels of appreciation and understanding.

With this in mind, on January 26th I attended the opening party for “Art & Sole,” a novel exhibition of custom painted platforms heeled shoes by 40 artists from around the world.  Showcased at Lab Art, the largest street art gallery in the world, these one-of-a-kind shoes had been transformed with original designs that were colorful, unique, fun, simple, and serious all together!  Donated by Iron Fist Footwear, this collection of hot heels will be showing in galleries worldwide and eventually auctioned off with the proceeds going to Soles 4 Souls, an organization providing shoes for those in need.

The drinks were flowing and the DJ was spinning uptempo 80’s tracks as I worked the room, meeting and talking with some of the artists who were on hand for the event such as Chuck Adame and Bev Hogue.  Every one of the shoes was fabulous and I would love to have them in my closet, but my favorite was the “Lady in Blue” design created by Hogue.

Lady in Blue Heels Created by Bev Hogue

Since blue is one of my primary fashion colors, I connected with her design instantly, taking in the ruffle lining, the cute bow on the back and the chic touch of beads and animal figurines.  For Hogue, the meaning behind the Lady in Blue is to embrace the odd beauty of the world, rather than to escape it. If I wore them out I would rock them in light orange skinny jeans and a white off-the-shoulder top. They would be the talk of the town!

There was a lot more art to take in the rest of the night. Lab Art is packed with two floors of colorful, playful, edgy and funky creations that would go great on any wall in my place. “Art & Sole” fit in perfectly at this quirky cool gallery. I was glad to take it all in, meet more new people in the name of art, and as any girl would, I wish I could have all 40 pairs of these shoes in my closet ready to wear.  However, each one is such a rarity that they ultimately may be more suited for a display of visual fascination and inspiration.

Comments on: "Art & Sole Opening Exhibition" (3)

  1. Dianne said:

    Great article, Style Goddess! I also loved the show, but fun to relive it through your words. The loop of photos at top shows what fun we all had!

  2. Thanks Diane, glad you were able to relive the experience through my post. That’s always the goal! 🙂

  3. […] Art & Sole Opening Exhibition (thestylegoddess.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrStumbleUponMoreRedditDiggPrintEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. ← Prev Got something to say? Go for it! […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

