Filling your world with COLOR through fashion, beauty, food, lifestyle etc.!

Dating 9 to 5?

Our second topic in Sound Off! To read Kyle’s response on this topic, click here.

You work at a job that has a mixture of people, including ones that you would date.  There are even some beautiful specimens that you pass all the time because they work in the vicinity of your business.  You might consider asking them out to see if there’s potential.  But do you really want to go there?  My restraining order is no intermingling of the coworkers or passerby’s within 500ft of the company!

I can easily say I will never date a coworker because I’ve somewhat experienced it and it didn’t turn out pretty.  I was temping at a company and there was a guy that would stop in his tracks and stare at me whenever I walked by.  I thought it was a little creepy and then one time he asked me out.  I hesitated with my answer but said yes.  Fortunately, we never went on the date because he had another coworker try to hit on me who I actually liked – but it turned out to be some competition.  After that incident, no thank you.

My thing is this – if you start dating your coworker and it doesn’t last, won’t it be awkward to work with them moving forward?  Will one of you feel forced to quit your job because you can’t stand being around the person you stopped dating? Would you go to many lengths to avoid seeing them?  I have a friend who dated someone at her job for 6 months and then they broke up.  She claimed to be cool with him, but when he brought up the fact he was dating someone else who worked at the same company jealousy was in the air.  It’s not worth all that, and I’d rather keep work as work, leave it there and carry on a flirty rendezvous elsewhere.

On the other hand, I do know a couple who dated in the workplace, got married and had kids.  To this day they still work together and I give them mucho props for that.  Live long and prosper as you will, but for me I will not take that pill.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Sound Off! is a monthly series with some “he said, she said” discussion on a variety of topics.  I’ve teamed up with my good friend, Kyle (Cougar) Hjelmesesth who has style, flavor, and a sharp mind.  He is the founder of [L]eftCoast Fashion, a commentary on all things creative in the style of West.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

